Stuck between a sneeze and a snore.

Here I am at the library again, all settled and snug in a cozy carrel and ready to grade until it’s done.  Ten feet in front of me a man is sound asleep in a reading chair sawing logs like nothing you’ve ever heard. Ten feet behind me is a young woman with a cold or allergies or something. When she is not sneezing she is sniffling loudly, and there is no break between the two.  I don’t think these are issues I can complain about to the staff, though.

“Excuse me? I can’t work because someone is sleeping and someone else needs to blow her nose.”

Leave a Reply

