In remembrance of a better water park.

This picture came to mind the day after our trip to Coco Key last Saturday.   We were all such fish out of water!  The following day, I was telling our neighbor that when we were kids, our family drove out west and stopped at this campground with a pretty crazy waterpark of its own.  Amazing, isn’t it?  Thankfully, one area of my life that is somewhat organized is my online photo collection, so this shot from 1981 or so was easy to track down.

There I go, at the precipice of my teen years, hurling my gangly awkward self  fearlessly off some platform that looks like it might fall in with me.  The water is dark, the night is coming, but none of that matters.  I’ve never forgotten this place.   To me, it set the standard for waterparks. There are a few places from my childhood that I would go to great lengths to in order to find again, and this is definitely one of them.

Leave a Reply

