Unedited 600 word experiment

Just for fun, I’m going to write a bunch of nonsense that adds up to 600 words.  Why, you wonder?  Well, this new writing work I’ve got asks for 600 word articles, and while it doesn’t seem like that much, I could be wrong.  I know I write in batches of 600 words somewhat regularly, but now I have ten assignments x 600 = 6000 words = sort of a lot of writing.  As I mentioned yesterday, I’m a bit nervous to get this started, just like any new project, perhaps.  Once I jump in, I should be fine, but it’s like anything new: scary until we’re actually doing it.   I hope to take some time today to study my assignments and get a feel for what is being asked for this work.  And then?  When I get it down, I can write quickly and set it aside and have a life outside of it.  It reminds me a little bit of my Uncle David’s career, first at Pan American Airlines, then at Delta.  He never had more than a behind the scenes desk job, nothing glamorous like piloting or anything, but the benefits it gave him were immeasurable.  He could fly for free anywhere he wanted as long as there was an empty seat.  And he could usually go first class, too. AND for many years immediate family was able to fly for some ridiculous discount, like 85% off the original price.  So there you have it.  Work that enables us to enjoy life once we leave it.  It will behoove (I’ve always loved this word) me to learn how to write these assignments quickly, because it pays by the project with the assumption that each project will take about an hour.

Look here!  It’s only been a few minutes and I’m already almost halfway done with my 600 word experiment.  Obviously, the real stuff will take much longer, but I’m confident, yes indeed I am.  Confident enough to say, at the end of this academic year, no more teaching at HC?  Why, perhaps.  Perhaps I may take a major leap and be done with the formal academia for a while.    With this way of making a living, we COULD follow my dream of driving around the USA for a few months in a used camper.  This is of course a dream that certain husbands do not exactly share.  Yet.  Anyhow, I am now over 400 words and this is going pretty quickly, isn’t it?  Yes, I’m writing a bunch of nonsense but that is not the point of the exercise.  The point, and now I’m just trying to fill space, is to see how quickly 600 words can exit my fingertips.  It’s not daunting at all, and in fact, with the articles, the challenge may actually be to keep things under 600 words at times.

Next weekend at this time I’ll be having coffee in Nashville with one of my dearest and oldest friends.  Isn’t it funny, though, to say “oldest” friend?  The friendship is old, but the friend is not.  Don’t people say that, though?  My oldest friend?  There you go, two different meanings.

Thundery skies this morning, which is fine because it’s Saturday and our planned activities are all indoors.  In a bit, we’ll go to the church and hide eggs for tomorrow’s hunt.  Then home, they perhaps next door to color eggs with our neighbors.  And that’s it!  That’s our plan for the day.  And now, just a few words to go and I’ve hit the 600 mark already.  Maybe for the next few days I’ll just do this and get accustomed to having this word count flow quickly.  Wrapping things up at 605.

Leave a Reply

