Another stinkin’ Sunday.

It’s been too long since my last visit here.  This week has been tough.  I have been trying, trying, trying to keep all my balls in the air, but I’m doing something wrong.  When I get overwhelmed I freeze and stop doing everything, always when I can least afford it. I despise this about myself.  I remain paralyzed until something cracks inside, and then BAM, I’m back.  Last week and up until today was like this.  I sat down to work, did a little bit, got distracted, did a little more work, got distracted, repeat, repeat, repeat. Finally, today, some naughty poltergeist flicked his match under my procrastinating ass and I got busy.

This morning was all about church, then an unexpectedly long meeting afterwards, then a lovely walk home from First Pres. with Charlotte, then, well, I got my period and was slammed with some bad cramps.  Normally, fine, whatever, but it was just thirty minutes before I was going to take Anna to see Heidi in the “The Pajama Game” at Stuart’s Opera House. I could barely move.  I weighed everything in finally deciding not to go: the late return from church, the staggering length of my to-do list, and above all, the stupid relentless cramps that have dogged me for thirty years.  Once that regretful decision was made, I allowed myself time for the Advil to kick in, then got to work.

With cramps just barely at bay, I filled bags of stuff to give away, took the toddler bed out of the back room, replaced it with the wooden bedframe that’s been waiting for months to get upstairs, went out and bought a twin mattress set and sheets, plus some of those gigantic Ziploc storage bags, returned home, assembled and made the bed, and more and more and more. It was hard to stop, actually.

Tomorrow there must be more of the same type of progress.  I have online grading to do, five articles to write, and we are leaving town for a month next Sunday at noon.  Just gotta be the little engine that could, I guess.  Oh, and there’s more to go on about,  much more, but it will have to wait until tomorrow.

One thought on “Another stinkin’ Sunday.

Leave a Reply

