Peeps in the Pantry.

Five days alone.  I feel like I’m still in the adjustment stage, like I haven’t yet hit my stride, whatever that may be.  The ideas I had on how to spend my solitude might shift, now that I’m actually in the thick of it.   Today, class was heavy, and I arrived home mentally and emotionally spent.  Our discussions on social justice and racism were at unsettlingly tense and silence filled, but at the same time beautifully facilitated and thought-provoking.  It was also my day to give a 45 minute demo lesson to my classmates, and the lesson went smoothly, feedback was positive and everyone felt like they learned something they could take back to their classrooms.  I’m completely wiped out, though, utterly exhausted, and I haven’t been able to shift my brain into “get stuff done” mode beyond cleaning out the tippy top shelf of the pantry and discovering a bag of unopened Easter treats.

I need to be aware of my energy levels and understand when they are working with me and when they are working against me, and probably take another look at what I want to get out of this extended period of being alone.  This morning when I woke up and wrote in my journal, I had all kinds of plans for what to do once I got home from class, but my mind and body refused to comply when the moment came.  These days, just about everything is an eye opener.

Seriously, though, what about those Peeps?  I could not find an expiration date and that does not seem okay.  Not at all.

Leave a Reply

