Treading water.

Here’s a little 1989 De La Soul to get the day started.   Most of the lyrics are pretty silly, but these lines are perfect for tucking into your back pocket in case of emergency:

“If there’s no one here to help, and no one to get involved
Always look to the positive and never drop your head
For the water will engulf us if we do not dare to tread
So let’s tread water.”

This is the first fall in years that I have not been in the classroom in some way.  Space inside my mind and soul has opened up that I didn’t know was still there. Even though I’m feeling incredibly free right now, last week I felt like my head was not above water yet after wrapping up our crazy summer of driving everywhere.  This week, I’m above the surface but still just treading water.    If I can get the little things done that I need to do, there might be a slow front crawl in the near future.  We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

