Around the corner.

New Mexico is just a few days away, now, and I am not nearly as stressed out about my 9 day absence as you might think.  One reason is that Anna will be in Maryland for the week visiting her grandparents, so Aaron doesn’t need to worry about driving her around to all her weekday commitments.  Another reason is that I’m only packing for myself and not for the rest of the family, mean no cars to load, lunches to pack, or house to clean before I leave.  Yet another happy feature about this trip is that just yesterday I found a shocking deal on a rental car!  I know, right?!?  For weeks I couldn’t find anything under $450 for 9 days, then out of nowhere comes this travelocity special for $207 for THE WHOLE TIME.

My own wheels.  I can go anywhere I want now and don’t have to rely on airport shuttles or the kindness of friends.  I have already decided that I will be taking this route, The Turquoise Trail, from Albuquerque to Santa Fe, and I am not going to be in a hurry.   If my plane’s on time, I’ll be out of Albuquerque by 1:00 pm and don’t need to be at Ghost Ranch until late Sunday afternoon.  It’s all wide open.

What will I do with myself?  I am going to decide when I get there! A little solo, spontaneous meandering is going to feel soooooo good, especially since as soon as I get back family will be here from New York and we will be entering the madness that is the Circleville Pumpkin Show.  Lots going on then, but I’m keeping that door of thought locked right now in order to fully experience next week.

There’s also this to consider before I leave Albuquerque.  We’ll just have to see!

Leave a Reply

