Library. Always open.

One of my favorite things about Ghost Ranch is that its library is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  Wouldn’t it be wonderful if all of the libraries in the world had no locks?  Yes, it sure would.

My aunts-in-law who live in Santa Fe gave me their latest favorite book, Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese to read on my way home because I needed something better than the disappointing Jennifer Weiner book I’d grabbed from the Athens library before my trip.  By page 7, I was already blown away by some of the passages, and now that life is settling down, I can get back to finishing this excellent novel.

“You are an instrument of God.  Why let that instrument lay sitting in its case, my son?  Play!  Leave no part of your instrument explored.  Why settle for ‘Three Blind Mice’ when you can play ‘Gloria?'” (p.7)

“You live life forward, but understand it backward.” (p. 9)”

“Geography is destiny.” (I forgot to note the page.) Will write more on this later because it’s so rich.

While we’re on quotes, Rudy, one of my classmates at Ghost Ranch, offered this one morning:

“Anything of interest takes place at a boundary.”

Leave a Reply

