Image

Ready to go!

Our baby is off on her first big Daisy Scout field trip today. The whole troop and some of their families are driving an hour and half to the Clay Theater in Charleston to see The Nutcracker. She looks beautiful and her hair is curled and it’s going to be a fabulous experience for her. And I’m pretty proud that she so nonchalantly climbed into her booster seat and blew me a confident kiss goodbye through the tinted window.

Yesterday morning I was looking forward to having the day to myself to get things done that are challenging to do with a six-year-old running around. I usually consider myself a free range kind of mom, but this morning, waving goodbye to her, I was fully aware of how out of alignment I am, and that millions of parents are feeling the same way.

This post from Lenore Skenazy of Free Range Kids has helped.

Leave a Reply

